Chelsea have tweaked their Champions League squad ahead of tonight’s group match against Sevilla, with a new academy player added to their List B.

The Blues announced their early Champions League squad for the group stage on its official website. That squad includes every member of the first team, except for the injured Charly Musonda, Baba Rahman and Danny Drinkwater.

While Chelsea can’t make changes to their List A, they can register any under-21 player who has trained at the club for at least two years on List B.

Mason Mount, Reece James, Billy Gilmour and Callum Hudson-Odoi are the four List B players from the first team.

(Photo by Catherine Ivill/Getty Images)

List B can be changed throughout the competition but any new registration must be submitted at midnight before the match day.

And, according to UEFA’s official website, three Chelsea academy players are in their squad for the Sevilla game – Karlo Ziger (goalkeeper), Henry Lawrence (midfielder) and Faustino Anjorin (midfielder).

(Photo by James Williamson – AMA/Getty Images)

Anjorin replaces Maatsen

While Ziger and Lawrence were added earlier this month, Anjorin is a new addition, replacing Ian Maatsen (defender) who has joined Charlton Athletic on loan.

Lawrence, who predominantly plays as a central midfielder could be a useful back-up considering Chelsea have fewer options in that position after Ethan Ampadu, Ross Barkley and Ruben Loftus-Cheek’s loan exits.

Jorginho, N’Golo Kante, Mateo Kovacic, Mason Mount and Kai Havertz would be the obvious options for central midfield roles, although Lampard also uses Reece James in midfield.

Full squad:


  • Kepa Arrizabalaga
  • Willy Caballero
  • Edouard Mendy
  • Karlo Ziger


  • Antonio Rudiger
  • Marcos Alonso
  • Andreas Christensen
  • Thiago Silva
  • Fikayo Tomori
  • Kurt Zouma
  • Ben Chilwell
  • Reece James
  • Cesar Azpilicueta
  • Emerson Palmieri


  • Jorginho
  • N’Golo Kante
  • Mateo Kovacic
  • Mason Mount
  • Kai Havertz
  • Hakim Ziyech
  • Christian Pulisic
  • Callum Hudson-Odoi
  • Henry Lawrence
  • Faustino Anjorin


  • Tammy Abraham
  • Timo Werner
  • Olivier Giroud
Have something to tell us about this article?